The Quit Sunday Principle

One of the things of being an avid learner is to juggle with a lot of new things to try and test and see if one can override their toolkit with new practices that amplify the old ones. Think about it in our lives, the reason we aren’t able to scale faster is because we stick to tried and tested things even if it works and have a ROI say with timelines of 4 months, 6 months, a year and so on. While I’m not against this at all, as we all would definitely be better off starting off with a blueprint.

In my journey so far from all the mentors, my learning projects and conversations one thing that has emerged as an insight is this:

Mixing up mentors. A better way of putting it is while there are tons of tested methodologies and practices that are out there not all of them will sync with one’s personality and the path they are on. A customized solution is often what works and here is the deal-breaker – The process is a never ending one!

What I have developed as a practice is once a month I use the Quit Sunday Principle – The last Sunday of every month is my introspection day of all the hacks, strategies that I have tried and picked up and check to see if they align perfectly to create a work-life balance and at the same time if they are accelerating me towards my realistic outcomes that I have set for myself. One thing I’d like to highlight is – Although I’m always on the lookout of new services, tech, skills, perspective shifts, paradigm shifts which enable me to optimize myself – It’s more often a recombination of all the skills, strategies that I already have in my skill vault.

Sometimes the strategy is having no-strategy! For all beginners it’s as simple as rolling out of the bed each morning and punching the clock until you feel you have your legs under you for a sprint! 🙂 – The art of the start is in just getting started and not breaking the chain while having a check-in once a month which I call the flash-forward exercise. The first step in getting what you want involves having the courage to get rid of what you don’t want.

The Flash-Forward Exercise:

Imagine you have already achieved your full potential in all respects and are fully self-actualized. How do you describe who you are and your purpose? How is your day like in that scenario?

What ever it is that excites you while you start doing it, having a check-in to flash-forward the future of your path and playing it back a year from now, 6 months from now, 3 months from now and asking yourself if I take this path what is my day like in those times. Is my ambition / purpose having me? Am I still able to discern and make space for myself?

I got inspired to make this principle up from Bruce Lee – Here is that quote!

One does not accumulate but eliminate. It is not daily increase but daily decrease. The height of cultivation always runs to simplicity.

Hack Away At The Inessential!

What do you plan on hacking away this Sunday? Let me know.

Leave a Reply

